Tips from a writing professional



Language navigation

Tips from a writing professional “Write about what’s going on in your head”

What makes a good letter? 

Good letters are like good conversations. Think of your lines like sentences in a conversation. How would your friend react to this sentence? Would they be intrigued and read on? Then you’ve got the right sentence in your letter. 

What’s a good way to begin? 

Thanking someone for something specific is a nice, appreciative way to start. And at the end, it’s best to include something to keep the conversation going, such as “Perhaps you can come and visit us in the autumn?”

How can you turn birthday greetings into something special?

Perhaps you can tell the birthday boy or girl about an activity you would like to do with them.

How can I make an authentic greeting card to celebrate a birth?

If you have children yourself, you could talk about what it was like when your own children were born, for example. But an offer to babysit will also always be welcome.

How could I congratulate a friend on their professional success?

Have you watched as your friend undertook further qualifications, or had to sit exams, or had to put up with a difficult boss for years on end? Write about how you closely followed their progress, and give them the recognition they deserve.

It’s not easy to describe your own feelings What’s the trick to doing it?

The most important thing is to recall how you reacted when you received the news. What thoughts, emotions and memories did the event trigger for you? That’s the raw material for making authentic, readable letters and cards. 

How can you avoid platitudes? 

Platitudes are words that come to mind without even thinking, because you’ve already seen them thousands of times. Instead, talk about what’s happened in your life. Talk about how you almost lost your job in restructuring, or about how your daughter is losing her first baby teeth, or how you’ll soon be moving into a new flat. Think of details, anecdotes and stories that you would talk about if you were having a conversation. 

That takes time. Why is it worth putting in the effort?

Think about the last real letter that you received. Do you still remember how happy you were when you found the handwritten envelope in your letterbox? Your friend sat down, disregarded what was going on around her and took time out for you. The card in your hands is proof of that. Letters are a gift of someone’s time for you. There is nothing more precious.

 

Matthias Wiemeyer is the co-owner of Schreibszene, a boutique Swiss writing school, and works as an instructor with many Swiss businesses of all sizes.

Conseils d’un professionnel de l’écriture



Guidage vocal

Conseils d’un professionnel de l’écriture «Décrivez votre monde intérieur» 

Comment rédiger une bonne lettre? 

Les bonnes lettres sont comme les bonnes discussions. Considérez les lignes comme les phrases d’une conversation. Comment votre ami réagit-il à cette phrase? L’accueille-t-il et poursuit-il sa lecture avec plaisir? Alors cette phrase s’intègre bien dans votre lettre. 

Qu’est-ce qu’une bonne introduction? 

Présenter ses remerciements pour quelque chose de concret est une belle manière, pleine d’estime, de commencer. Dans la conclusion, il faut un élément permettant de poursuivre le dialogue: «Cela vous dirait-il de venir nous rendre visite cet automne?»  

Comment présenter des vœux d’anniversaire qui sortent de l’ordinaire?

Écrivez, par exemple, à la personne qui fête son anniversaire ce que vous aimeriez visiter ou entreprendre avec elle.

Comment écrire une carte de vœux authentique pour une naissance?

Si vous avez vous-même des enfants, vous pouvez par exemple raconter ce que vous avez ressenti lorsque vos propres enfants sont venus au monde. Une proposition de baby-sitting est également toujours la bienvenue.

Comment féliciter une amie pour sa réussite professionnelle?

Vous avez accompagné votre amie pendant sa formation continue, lorsqu’elle devait passer des examens ou durant les longues années où elle a dû supporter un chef difficile? Écrivez ce que vous avez alors ressenti et que cette reconnaissance bien méritée vous remplit de joie.

Décrire ses propres sentiments n’est pas chose aisée. Comment s’y prendre?

Dans tous les cas, le principal est de prêter attention à ce que vous ressentiriez en recevant le message. Quels pensées, sentiments, souvenirs cet événement a-t-il déclenchés? C’est la matière brute pour des lettres et des cartes authentiques que l’on a envie de lire. 

Comment éviter les formules toutes faites? 

Les formules toutes faites sont celles qui vous viennent à l’esprit sans y réfléchir parce que vous les avez déjà lues des milliers de fois. Au lieu de cela, racontez ce qu’il se passe dans votre vie: que vous avez presque perdu votre emploi lors de la restructuration, que votre fille perd ses premières dents de lait ou que vous allez bientôt emménager dans un nouvel appartement. Cherchez les petits détails, les anecdotes et les histoires que vous raconteriez s’il s’agissait d’une discussion. 

Cela prend du temps. En quoi cela est-il justifié?

Repensez à la dernière vraie lettre que vous avez reçue. Ressentez-vous encore la joie face à l’enveloppe manuscrite dans votre boîte aux lettres? Votre amie s’est assise, a fait abstraction des bruits de la vie quotidienne et vous a consacré du temps. La carte que vous tenez entre vos mains en est la preuve. Les lettres sont du temps offert. Il n’y a rien de plus précieux.

 

Matthias Wiemeyer est associé de Schreibszene, une petite école d’écriture suisse, et formateur pour de nombreuses petites et grandes entreprises suisses.